Outback Queensland

Outback Queensland

In Stage 1 of the Roadmap to the Easing of Restrictions, special consideration was given to Outback areas during the easing of Queensland’s restrictions.

What are ‘Outback Areas’?

Outback Areas referred to in the Roadmap to easing of Queensland’s restrictions are defined as the Local Government Areas listed below:

  1. Balonne Shire Council
  2. Banana Shire Council
  3. Barcaldine Regional Council
  4. Barcoo Shire Council
  5. Blackall–Tambo Regional Council
  6. Boulia Shire Council
  7. Bulloo Shire Council
  8. Carpentaria Shire Council
  9. Central Highlands Regional Council
  10. Cloncurry Shire Council
  11. Croydon Shire Council
  12. Diamantina Shire Council
  13. Etheridge Shire Council
  14. Flinders Shire Council
  15. Longreach Regional Council
  16. Maranoa Regional Council
  17. McKinlay Shire Council
  18. Mount Isa City Council
  19. Murweh Shire Council
  20. Paroo Shire Council
  21. Quilpie Shire Council
  22. Richmond Shire Council
  23. Winton Shire Council.

Under Stage 2, Queenslanders can freely travel within the State, including any Outback area.

Travel restrictions for remote communities

From midday 10 July 2020, there are no entry requirements, quarantine requirements and travel restrictions for Queensland’s remote Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

The whole of Queensland now operates under Stage 3 of the Roadmap to easing Queensland’s restrictions.

The Chief Health Officer may decide to re-introduce restrictions if an outbreak of COVID-19 occurs in a community. Decisions will be made by the Chief Health Officer based on public health conditions for each community and in consultation with local leaders.

Last updated:
10 July 2020